0%

LOBBY x OBDN

LOBBY x OBDN

Masha Egorova
«I Am Thinking of You»
November 11 — December 1, 2021
Curator: Anna Mikheeva

On November 11, LOBBY will be hosting an opening of the personal exhibition of Masha Egorova, an artist of the Ob’edinenie online gallery. The show will feature a series of ceramic objects – vases, flat dishes and tactile shapes.

"Every object touched by the loved being's body becomes part of that body, and the subject eagerly attaches himself to it." – Roland Barthes, "A Lover's Discourse: Fragments"

Anna Mikheeva, the curator: "A vase is one of the most important forms. It is a vessel, a storage container; an open space for the eyes on one side and an internal one, hidden from outsiders on the other. A vase filled to the brim with nectar. A vase as a symbol of eternal harmony, and a sheltering vessel for all constellations. An object to collect water for washing hands before prayer, wedding ceremony. This is what encompasses the beginning. A symbol of the heart, the animating power of nature, purity. Masha's vases are kept in a country garden – in a place of secrets. The garden is like a memory that does not fade because it is endlessly relived.

One of the main memories is falling in love. The splitting of consciousness formed before this; the moment you do not recognise yourself because the past does not exist – love has turned over the whole space. It is a fusion with the other, a desire. "Love admiration is a kind of hypnosis: I am fascinated by the image." Here this image takes shape — you can touch it, you want to study it, sense it again, move it, lift it and feel the weight.

Masha's works are the opposite of the classical idea of ceramics as pottery production. Roundness, softness, densification and narrowing, thinning and layering — there is no place for strict forms and predictability. It is an absolutely glossy glaze, like a completely wet and fresh form that reflects the space around it; you want to touch it as soon as you get closer.

Masha not only recognises the functionality of her objects, but the artworks themselves seem to proclaim that the seemingly simple common form is above any strict distinctions between the utilitarian and the artistic, the private and the public, concept and pleasure. Through such smoothness and ductility, Masha creates a poetic space where the viewer can freely pause and return, scrutinise the objects or fall into his own memories."

Masha Egorova

Sculptor, lives and works in Moscow. The forms of the artist's objects embody the dialogue between design and contemporary art. The tactile and sensual process of their creation is the core of Masha's practice.

OBDN

Ob’edinenie is an online gallery of emerging contemporary art and micro-media. The purpose of the project is to prove that art is closer and more accessible than it seems, while uniting the artist and his audience.

View available works

0%

LOBBY x OBDN

LOBBY x OBDN

Маша Егорова
«Я думаю о тебе»
11 ноября — 1 декабря 2021
Куратор: Анна Михеева

11 ноября в пространстве LOBBY откроется персональная выставка художницы онлайн-галереи «Объединение» — Маши Егоровой. На ней будет представлена серия керамических объектов: вазы, плоские блюда и тактильные формы.

 

«Любой предмет, которого касалось тело любимого, становится частью этого тела, и влюбленный субъект страстно к нему привязывается» — Ролан Барт "Фрагменты любовной речи"

Куратор Анна Михеева: «Ваза — одна из важнейших форм. Это сосуд, вместилище для хранения; открытое для глаз пространство с одной стороны и внутреннее, скрытое от посторонних. Ваза, до краев наполненная нектаром. Ваза как символ вечной гармонии, и укрывающий сосуд для всех созвездий. Набрать воды для омовения рук перед молитвой, обрядом венчания. Это то, что заключает в себе начало. Символ сердца, оживляющей силы природы, чистоты. Вазы Маши хранятся в дачном саду — в месте тайн. Сад, как воспоминание, которое не меркнет, потому что бесконечно проживается заново.

Одно из главных воспоминаний — влюбленность. Расщепление собранного до этого сознания; момент, когда не узнаешь себя, потому что прежнего не существует — любовь переворачивает все пространство. Это слияние с другим, желание. «Любовное восхищение — это какой-то гипноз: я очарован образом». Здесь этот образ обретает форму — до него можно дотронуться, его хочется изучать, касаться снова, двигать, поднимать и ощущать вес.

Работы Маши — противоположность классическому представлению о керамике как гончарном производстве. Округлость, мягкость, уплотнения и сужения, утончения и наслоения — тут нет места строгой форме и предсказуемости. Абсолютно глянцевая глазурь, как совсем влажная свежая форма, в которой отражается пространство вокруг; к ней хочется прикоснуться, стоит подойти ближе.

Маша не просто признает функциональность своих объектов, они словно сами провозглашают, что кажущаяся простой бытовая форма выше каких-либо строгих разграничений на утилитарное и искусство, концепцию и наслаждение, частное и публичное. Через такую плавность и тягучесть Маша создает поэтическое пространство, в котором зритель может в свободном движении прерываться и возвращаться, всматриваться в объекты или проваливаться в собственные воспоминания.»

Маша Егорова

Скульптор, живет и работает в Москве. Формы объектов художницы олицетворяют диалог между дизайном и современным искусством. Процесс их создания — тактильные и чувственные составляющие — является основным в ее практике. 

OBDN

Онлайн-галерея молодого современного искусства и микро-медиа. Цель проекта — показать, что искусство ближе и доступнее чем кажется, и объединить художника и его зрителя.

Посмотреть доступные работы